Faculty Awards

Pursuing excellence in teaching, professional life, and service to the College are all aspects of faculty life at Roanoke College, and each spring the Dean acknowledges outstanding faculty members through awards given in these different areas. The teaching award is given each year; the other awards are given in alternate years. 

Nominations for the 2014-15 awards (teaching  and professional life) are now being accepted. Send your nomination letter by Friday, February 20 to Dr. Jennifer Berenson (berenson@roanoke.edu; Administration Building 115).


Join with us in congratulating recipients of these rewards:


Year Dean's Exemplary Dean's Exemplary Professional
Teaching Award Life & Service Awards
2013-14 Dr. Shannon Anderson Dr. Chad Morris (S)
2012-13 Dr. Virginia Stewart Dr. Monica Vilhauer (PL)
2011-12 Dr. David G. Taylor Dr. W. Gary Hollis, Jr. (S)
2010-11 Dr. Julie S. Lyon Dr. Paul R. Hinlicky (PL)
2009-10 Dr. Christopher Lassiter Dr. N. Jane Ingram (S)
2008-09 Dr. Christpher R. Lee & Dr. Roland B. Minton (PL)
Dr. Robert A. Willingham
2007-08 Dr. Kristi L. Hoffman Dr. Richard G. Grant (S)
2006-07 Dr. Benjamin P. Huddle Dr. J. Brooks Crozier (PL)
2005-06 Dr. Forinda Ruiz Dr. Charlene F. Kalinoski (S)
2004-05 Dr. Leonard D. Pysh Dr. Anil M. Shende (PL)
2003-04 Dr. Garry A. Fleming Dr. Hans M. Zorn (S)
2002-03 Dr. Melanie Almeder Dr. Gregory L. Weiss (PL)
2001-02 Dr. W. Kevin Baker Prof. Eberle L. Smith (S)
2000-01 Dr. Richard G. Grant Dr. W. Gary Hollis, Jr. (PL)
1999-00 Dr. Paul Hanstedt Dr. Gail H. McKee (S)
1998-99 Dr. R. Scott Hardwig Dr. Gerald R. McDermott (PL)
1997-98 Dr. Roland B. Minton Dr. J. Mack Welford (S)
1996-97 Dr. Ned P. Wisnefske Dr. Robert D. Denham (PL)
1995-96 Dr. Gregory L. Weiss Prof. N. George Arthur (S)
1994-95 Dr. James M. Ogier Dr. Abdulnasser F. Barghouty (PL)
1993-94 Dr. Bobbye G. Au Prof. James Buriak (S)
1992-93 Dr. Jan H. Lynch Dr. Robert E. Jenkins (PL)
1991-92 Dr. Edward L. McClelland Dr. Susan P. Millinger (S)
1990-91 Dr. C. William Hill Dr. Robert Benne (PL)
1989-90 Dr. Sarah J. Simmons Dr. Patricia M. Gathercole (PL)
    Dr. Benjamin P. Huddle (S)
1988-99 Dr. Denis A. Lape