Previous Coffee Shop Talks

Thursday, May 2, 2013
"Are Democracies Fated to Commit Suicide?"
Mr. G. Michael Pace, The Center for Teaching the Rule of Law

Thursday, April 4, 2013
"Race in the Floodwaters: Whiteness in Television Coverage of Hurricane Katrina"
Dr. Debra Burns Melican, Assistant Professor of Communication Studies

Thursday, March 14, 2013
"Caffeine and Heroin: The Biochemistry of Addiction"
Dr. Catherine Sarisky, Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Thursday, February 6, 2013
"The Economics of Health and Health Care"
Dr. Alice Kassens, Associate Professor of Economics

Thursday, February 2 , 2012
"When Social Media Disrupts"
Dr. Denise Adkins, Associate Professor of Psychology

Thursday, March 1, 2012
"Good Girls Don't Salome in Renaissance Art"
Dr. Jane Long, Joanne Leonhardt Cassullo Professor of Art History

Thursday, April 5, 2012
"Intersex Fish?  Effects of Estrogen in Virginia's Waterways"
Dr. Chris Lassiter, Associate Professor of Biology

Thursday, May 3, 2012
Is there Freedom without Free Will? Determinism and Ethics"
Dr. Brent Adkins, Associate Professor of Philosophy

Thursday, September 6, 2012
"A Cappella Insights"
Looking For an Echo

Thursday, October 4, 2012
"The 2012 Elections"
Dr. Harry Wilson, Professor of Political Science

Thursday, November 1, 2012
"Who's #1 in College Football? The BCS and Mathematical Ranking Systems
Dr. Roland Minton, Capp-Whitehead Professor of Mathematics

Thursday, December 6, 2012
"The Maya and the End of Time"
Dr. Jim Ogier, Professor of German and Linguistics