Biology Department Faculty & Staff

Roanoke College has both young and experienced professors, which provides students with a perfect blend of modern and classical teaching. Professors in the biology department hold doctorates from such prestigious universities as Duke, Virginia Tech, Cornell, Iowa State, University of California - San Diego, the University of Maryland, Indiana University and many others. Faculty research interests include comparative physiology, invertebrate biology, ecosystems dynamics, microbiology, plant pathology, anatomy and physiology, biodiversity, cell biology, ichthyology, botany, molecular biology, genetics and bioinformatics.

Ms. Frances E. Bosch
540-375-4903
Teaching Associate
bosch@roanoke.edu
Dr. Rachel Collins
540-375-2034
Associate Professor
rcollins@roanoke.edu
Dr. J. Brooks Crozier
540-375-2548
Associate Professor
crozier@roanoke.edu
Dr. Robert E. Jenkins
Professor Emeritus
jenkins@roanoke.edu
Dr. Darwin D. Jorgensen
540-375-2465
Professor
jorgense@roanoke.edu
Dr. Christopher S. Lassiter
Associate Professor
540-375-2460
lassiter@roanoke.edu

Dr. Matthew J. Petersen
540-375-4957
Visiting Assistant Professor
mpetersen@roanoke.edu

Dr. DorothyBelle Poli
540-375-2461
Associate Professor
poli@roanoke.edu

Dr. Steven L. Powers
540-375-4946
Associate Professor
powers@roanoke.edu

Dr. Leonard D. Pysh
540-375-2466
Professor and Chairperson
pysh@roanoke.edu

Dr. Marilee Ramesh
540-375-2464
Associate Professor
ramesh@roanoke.edu

Ms. Lindy Thibodeaux
540-375-2060
Teaching Associate
thibodeaux@roanoke.edu

Dr. Michael Wise
540-375-6125
Teaching Associate
wise@roanoke.edu

Ms. Ellen Dyer
540-375-2462
Secretary
dyer@roanoke.edu
 
It’s A Bug’s Life for Prospective Biology Major

It’s A Bug’s Life for Prospective Biology Major

Basic human instinct tells most to fear bugs, and most people don’t have the inclination to do research on the very creatures that send a shiver down their spines. Firebaugh’s instincts told her differently, and she is spending much of her time at Roanoke College researching the critters about which she is passionate.

See all related stories