Biology Department Faculty & Staff

Roanoke College has both young and experienced professors, which provides students with a perfect blend of modern and classical teaching. Professors in the biology department hold doctorates from such prestigious universities as Duke, Virginia Tech, Cornell, Iowa State, University of California - San Diego, the University of Maryland, Indiana University and many others. Faculty research interests include comparative physiology, invertebrate biology, ecosystems dynamics, microbiology, plant pathology, anatomy and physiology, biodiversity, cell biology, ichthyology, botany, molecular biology, genetics and bioinformatics.

Dr. Jennifer Bandura
540-375-2463
Visiting Assistant Professor
bandura@roanoke.edu

Ms. Frances E. Bosch
540-375-4903
Teaching Associate
bosch@roanoke.edu
Dr. Rachel Collins
540-375-2034
Associate Professor
rcollins@roanoke.edu
Dr. J. Brooks Crozier
540-375-2548
Associate Professor
crozier@roanoke.edu
Dr. Robert E. Jenkins
Professor Emeritus
jenkins@roanoke.edu
Dr. Darwin D. Jorgensen
540-375-2465
Professor
jorgense@roanoke.edu
Dr. Christopher S. Lassiter
Associate Professor
540-375-2460
lassiter@roanoke.edu

Dr. Matthew J. Petersen
540-375-4957
Visiting Assistant Professor
mpetersen@roanoke.edu

Dr. DorothyBelle Poli
540-375-2461
Associate Professor
poli@roanoke.edu

Dr. Steven L. Powers
540-375-4946
Associate Professor
powers@roanoke.edu

Dr. Leonard D. Pysh
540-375-2466
Professor and Chairperson
pysh@roanoke.edu

Dr. Marilee Ramesh
540-375-2464
Associate Professor
ramesh@roanoke.edu

Ms. Lindy Thibodeaux
540-375-2060
Teaching Associate
thibodeaux@roanoke.edu

Dr. Jenifer Walke
540-375-2314
Visiting Assistant Professor
walke@roanoke.edu

Dr. Michael Wise
540-375-6125
Teaching Associate
wise@roanoke.edu

Ms. Ellen Dyer
540-375-2462
Secretary
dyer@roanoke.edu
 
Faculty-Student Team Collaborates in Research Project

Faculty-Student Team Collaborates in Research Project

At most undergraduate research labs, students can be found washing dishes. Here at Roanoke College, students are part of the entire research process. Students Geoff Bader ’11 and Bryan Piatkowski ’12 work with Dr. DorothyBelle Poli gaining invaluable firsthand learning experience.

See all related stories