Environmental Studies Faculty & Staff

In addition to several core faculty in Environmental Studies, our interdisciplinary program is supported by academic departments across campus including Public Affairs, Biology, Sociology, Chemistry, Business Administration & Economics, History, and Religion & Philosophy.

 Dr. Valerie Banschbach
 Professor & Chair of Environmental Studies
banschbach@roanoke.edu
Courthouse Annex 107

Dr. Banschbach's teaching and research interests include conservation ecology, agro-ecology, behavioral ecology, social insects (esp. ants and bees), tropical ecology, and pedagogy in environmental studies and science.

 

Dr. Jon Cawley
Associate Professor of Environmental Science
jcawley@roanoke.edu

Courthouse Annex 104

Dr. Cawley teaches a broad range of environmental courses including systems dynamics, geology, and introduction to environmental studies. He offers general education courses on energy and the American Dream.

Dr. Kathy O'Neill
Assistant Professor of Environmental Science
oneill@roanoke.edu

Courthouse Annex 105

Dr. O'Neill teaches courses on GIS, Earth Systems Science, and is currently teaching our capstone Environmental Practicum.  Her general education offerings include Risks & Resources.


Dr. Andreea Mihalache-O'Keef
Assistant Professor of Political Science 
mihalache@roanoke.edu

Dr. Mihalache-O'Keef teaches ENVI 250 Environment & Society, political science methods, and related courses.  She offers a general education course on global food security.

Dr. Rachel Collins
Associate Professor of Biology 
rcollins@roanoke.edu

Dr. Collins teaches several ecology courses as well as the Biology Department's biodiversity course.  She teaches a general education lab course entitled, "Citizen Zoologist."

Dr. Daniel Sarabia
Associate Professor of Sociology
sarabia@roanoke.edu

Dr. Sarabia teaches Environment & Society, Environmental Sociology, and Global Population Problems.  He teaches an INQ courses on social justice as well as literary visions of the future.


Dr. Marwood Larson-Harris
Religion & Philosophy Teaching Associate
mdharris@roanoke.edu

Dr. Larson-Harris teaches Environmental Philosophy as well as Ethics, Environment & Culture.  For Religion/Philosophy, he offers a range of courses primarily on Asian and Native American topics.

 

Dr. Richard Keithley
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
keithley@roanoke.edu

Dr. Keithley is an analytical chemist who teaches Environmental Chemistry in addition to other analytical and general chemistry courses.


Dr. DB Poli
Associate Professor of Biology
poli@roanoke.edu

Dr. Poli offers courses in evolution and cell biology.  She sponsors student research projects on a very broad range of topics.

 

Dr. Jesse Bucher
Assistant Professor of History
bucher@roanoke.edu

Dr. Bucher's research and teaching interests include Africa, post-colonial studies, and environmental history. 

 

Roanoke College students lobby on Capitol Hill

Roanoke College students lobby on Capitol Hill

Power Shift 2009 urges young people to promote conversation about justice, equity, economic reform and clean living.

Learn More

See all related stories

 

Classic Conversion: Roanoke students transform 1939 Pontiac into electric-powered vehicle

Learn More

 

"When I researched various options for college, Roanoke's environmental program was light years ahead of what other schools offered. The professors were wonderful. So much of my time was spent outdoors; it really opened up my mind for different ways of learning."

-Whitney Sorge, Park Ranger, Kerr Lake State Recreation Area


 

Classic Conversion: Roanoke students transform 1939 Pontiac into electric-powered vehicle

Learn More