Faculty & Staff

All of Roanoke's history faculty members have earned the highest degrees in their field. The department has an impressive 12 professorships. The average class size is 18, ensuring that students receive one-on-one attention and develop strong working relationships with faculty.

Professors

Dr. Whitney A.M. Leeson
540-375-2541
Professor and Chair
Medieval France, historical
anthropology, archaeology
wleeson@roanoke.edu

Dr. Jesse Bucher
540-375-2049
Assistant Professor
Africa
bucher@roanoke.edu

Dr. Gary G. Gibbs 

540-375-2202
Professor
Tudor-Stuart England, early
modern Europe, Renaissance
and Reformation
gibbs@roanoke.edu

Dr. Michael A. Hakkenberg
540-375-2379
Professor
Renaissance and Reformation, early
modern Europe, religious
hakkenbe@roanoke.edu

Dr. Jason Hawke
540-375-4954
Associate Professor
Classics, Ancient World
hawke@roanoke.edu

Dr. Mary J. Henold
540-375-5159
Associate Professor
Women's studies and U.S. social history
henold@roanoke.edu

Dr. Mark F. Miller
540-375-2412
The David F. Bittle College Historian
Professor
Colonial America, U.S. Civil War,
U.S. frontier
mmiller@roanoke.edu

Dr. John G. Selby
540-375-2425
John R. Turbyfill
Professor of History
Professor
U.S. Civil War, modern U.S.,
diplomatic
selby@roanoke.edu

Dr. Myrna Ivonne Wallace Fuentes
540-375-4953
Associate Professor
Latin America
wallacefuentes@roanoke.edu

Dr. Rob Willingham
540-375-2422
Associate Professor
Modern Europe, Holocaust
willingham@roanoke.edu

Dr. Stella Xu
540-375-2078
Associate Professor
China, Korea, Japan
sxu@roanoke.edu

Lecturers

Dr. Gary L. Dent
540-375-2410
Adjunct Associate Professor
Colonial and revolutionary America
gdent@roanoke.edu

Dr. Tom Klatka
540-387-5396
Lecturer
Archaeology
tom.klatka@dhr.virginia.gov

Mr. John D. Long
540-375-2078
Senior Lecturer
Modern Europe, Germany
jlong@roanoke.edu

Mrs. Linda Angle Miller
Senior Lecturer
U.S. social, archives, 19th century
lmiller@roanoke.edu

Professors Emeriti

Dr. Susan Millinger
millinger@roanoke.edu

Dr. R. Dan Richardson
Modern Europe

Dr. Janice M. Saunders
Africa, environmental, world civilization
saunders@roanoke.edu

Geography Lecturers

Mr. Wayne Strickland
540-375-2410
Senior Lecturer
World and Introduction
strickla@roanoke.edu

Mr. Shane Sawyer
540-343-4417
Senior Lecturer
North America
ssawyer@rvarc.org

Mr. Ben Tripp
Lecturer
Urban
btripp@roanoke.edu

 

Department Secretary

Mrs. Karen F. Harris
540-375-2421
harris@roanoke.edu

 

 
Roanoke professor's book gives up-close view of old Egyptian economy

Roanoke professor's book gives up-close view of old Egyptian economy

Dr. Leslie Warden, one of few Egyptologists in Virginia, recently completed her first academic book, “Pottery and Economy in Old Kingdom Egypt,” published by Brill.

See all related stories