Faculty Research Interests in the Social Sciences

At Roanoke College, the Social Sciences include the following departments:

  • Business Administration & Economics
  • Education
  • Health & Human Performance: Athletic Training, Health and Exercise Science, Health and Physical Education, & Sport Management
  • Psychology
  • Public Affairs: Criminal Justice, International Relations, & Political Science
  • Sociology

Faculty research interests are listed by department, then alphabetical by faculty member.

Business Administration & Economics

Mrs. Michelle A. Crook
Lecturer, alexander@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Fed Challenge, Commercial Banking, Accounting
Research interests:
• Monetary Policy
• The Federal Reserve System
• Trends in Commercial Banking
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Garry A. Fleming
John S. Shannon Professor of Economics, fleming@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Economics
Research interests:
• Macro economics
• Monetary Economics
• International Economics
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Pamela S. Galluch
Assistant Professor, galluch@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Information Systems
Research interests:
• Technostress
• Multitasking with Information Technology
• Information Technology
Works with students on research: yes

Prof Michelle B. Hagadorn, CPA
Associate Professor, hagadorn@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Accounting
Research interests:
• Healthcare Finance and Accounting
• Financial literacy
• Corporate financial management
Works with students on research: Yes

Mr. Michael Hutkin
Teaching Associate, mhutkin@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Operations Management
Research interests:
• Global Management
• Operations Management
• Innovation
Works with students on research: Yes

Dr. Alice L. Kassens
Associate Professor, kassens@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Economics
Research interests:
• Health Economics
• Labor Economics
• Undergraduate Education
Works with students on research: Yes

Ms. Gulfem Ivy Kutlu
Visiting Instructor, kutlu@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Marketing
Research interests:
• Brand equity
• Cross-cultural marketing
• Effect of marketing on firm value
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Larry A. Lynch
Professor, llynch@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Finance
Research interests:
• Behavioral Finance
• Markets and Investing
• Forensic Economics
Works with students on research: yes
Publications with students:
An Accurate Prediction Model for Financial Distress, Larry A. Lynch and Lynn Schwehr, Virginia Social Science Journal, Winter 1996

Dr. Julie Lyon
Assistant Professor, lyon@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Management
Research interests:
• Organizational culture and climate
• Personnel selection
• Reducing adverse impact and increasing diversity in organizations
Works with students on research: yes
Publications with students:
Anderson, M. A., Filer, K., & Lyon, J. S. (2012). Undergraduate Research on UR Leads to College-Wide Change. CUR Quarterly, 33(1). 8-12. 

Mr. Bruce Manthe
Lecturer, manthe@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Marketing
Research interests:
• Advertising
• Marketing
• Sales
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Edward Nik-Khah
Associate Professor, nik@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Economics
Research interests:
• Political economy of market design
• economics of scientific knowledge
• post- World War II history of economic thought
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Elisabeth Gilster Velazquez
Associate Professor, gilster@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Marketing
Research interests:
• International Marketing
• Sustainable Organizations, Businesses, and Practices
• Consumer Behavior
Works with students on research: yes

Education

Dr. Nancy A. Bradley
Lecturer, bradley@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Literacy and Special Education
Research interests:
• Differentiated Instructional Strategies
• Professional Development
• Vocabulary Development
Works with students on research: yes

Ms. Kathryn "Katie" S. Elmore
Teaching Associate, elmore@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Foundations of Public Education/Teacher Pedagogy
Research interests:
• Social Justice in Public Schooling
• Classroom Management
• Pedagogy
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Timothy Reynolds
Associate Professor (Chair), treynold@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Specialty International Education and Elementary Education
Research interests:
• International education
• School reform
• Differentiated instruction
Works with students on research:

Dr. Lisa G. Stoneman
Teaching Associate, stoneman@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Curriculum and Instruction: English Education
Research interests:
• Social justice and democracy in education
• Curriculum design and evaluation
• Student engagement
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Gary L. Whitt
Associate Professor, whitt@roanoke.edu
Research interests:
• instructional technology
• assessment of learning
• human cognition
Works with students on research: Yes

Health & Human Performance

Dr. John W. Creasy
Associate Professor, creasy@roanoke.edu
Research interests:
• Sport Psychology - Mental Skill Development
• Mental Toughness
• Motor Learning
Works with students on research: yes
Creasy, J, Rearick, M., Buriak, J. & Reincke, K. (2011). Demographic Indicators of Rehabilitation Compliance/Noncompliance within College Athletics. (Accepted -In Press). Athletic Training and Sports Health Care. 
Rearick, M., Creasy, J, Johnson, J. & Mumaw, E. (2010). After - and In-School-Wide Nutrition and Fitness Programs for Elementary Students. The Virginia Journal: Virginia Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance. Spring 2010, Vol. 31, No. 2 pp. 28-30. 
Creasy, J., Rearick, M., Buriak, J. & Wright, L. (2009). Are You Coaching Mental Skills? Why Not? The Virginia Journal: Virginia Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance. Fall 2009, Vol. 30, No. 2 pp. 13-17. 
Creasy, J., Stratton, R., Maina, M., Rearick, M. & Reincke, K. (2008). Mental Toughness in Sports. Scholastic Coach & Athletic Director April 2008, Volume 77, No. 9 pp. 30-35.

Dr. Elizabeth A. Holbrook
Assistant Professor, holbrook@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Exercise Science
Research interests:
• Exercise as medicine
• Physical activity across the lifespan
• Special populations (particular interest in visual impairment)
Works with students on research: Yes

Dr. Michael P. Maina
Associate Professor, maina@roanoke.edu
Specialty:
Research interests:
• Physical education
• Strength training
• Effective teaching methods
Works with students on research: yes
Creasy, J., Reincke, K., & Maina, M. (2008). Mental toughness: Why you need it. Scholastic Coach and Athletic Director, April, 30-34.

Dr. Julie Schlegel Maina
Assistant Professor, jmaina@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Health and Physical Education Pedagogy
Research interests:
• Health psychology
• Childhood obesity
• Health education and eating disorders
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Matthew P. Rearick
Associate Professor, rearick@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Movement Science
Research interests:
• Exercise science
• Motor behavior and control
• Motor development and learning
Works with students on research: yes
Publications with students:
Creasy, J., Rearick, M., Buriak, J., & Reincke*, K. (In Press). Indicators of rehabilitation noncompliance in college athletics. Athletic Training and Sports Health Care.
Rearick, M.P, Creasy, J., Mumaw*, E. & Johnson, J. (2010) After- and school-wide nutrition and fitness programs for elementary students. The Virginia Journal. 31(2). 28 - 30.

Ms. Deborah "Debbie" Stevens
Part-time Lecturer, stevens@roanoke.edu
Research interests:
• Yin Yoga
• 8 Limbs of Yoga
• Buddhism
Works with students on research: yes

Psychology

Dr. Christopher Buchholz
Associate Professor, buchholz@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Social
Research interests:
• social psychology
• music and personality
• evolutionary psychology
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Denise Friedman
Assistant Professor, dadkins@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Cognitive Developmental Neuroscience
Research interests: 
• child development
• impact of technology
• working memory and inhibitory control
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. David F. Nichols
Assistant Professor, dnichols@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Neuroscience
Research interests:
• sensation and perception
• cognitive neuroscience
• temporal processing
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Galdino F. Pranzarone
Professor, pranzaro@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Sexology-Lovemap Theory and Paraphilias
Research interests:
• Disorders of Sexual and Gender Development
• Development of Paraphilia in Childhood and Adolescence
• Stress and its Management
Works with students on research: yes

Public Affairs

Dr. C. William Hill, Jr.
Senior Lecturer, hill@roanoke.edu
Research interests:
• The Jeffersonian tradition in American politics
• Conservative political thought, especially its origins in the 1950s
Works with students on research:

Mr. Roy H. Kirby, III
Visiting Instructor, rhkirby@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Normative Ethics in Administration
Research interests:
• Normative Ethics
• Constitutionalism
• Narrative Theory
Works with students on research: Yes

Dr. Todd C. Peppers
Associate Professor, peppers@roanoke.edu
Research interests:
• Judicial institutions
• Supreme Court law clerks
• Death penalty
Works with students on research:

Dr. Joshua B. Rubongoya
Professor (Chair), rubongoy@roanoke.edu
Research interests:
• Democratization in Africa
• Problems of political legitimacy in Africa
• Human rights in Africa
Works with students on research: yes

Sociology

Dr. Shannon L. Anderson
Assistant Professor, slanderson@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Historical Sociology and Medical Sociology
Research interests:
• Autism
• AIDS
• American identity over the 20th century
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Marit A. Berntson
Associate Professor (Chair), berntson@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Political Sociology
Research interests:
• Political extremism
• Anti-immigration and anti-racism movements in France
• College student relationships and intimacy
Works with students on research: yes

Ms. Margaret E. Gaines
Lecturer, mgaines@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Demography, Social Injustice, Third Sector Research
Research interests:
• Population Processes
• Third Sector Research and Theory on China
• Social Injustice in Relation to Natural Resources

Dr. Kristi L. Hoffman
Associate Professor, khoffman@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Marriage and Family in the 21st Century, Educational Reform, Effects of Incarceration, and Drug Treatment
Research interests:
• service learning
• dating patterns
Works with students on research: yes

Mr. Steven M. McGlamery
Lecturer, mcglamery@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Race and Inequality
Research interests:
• Race/class/gender inequality
• Race and education
• Race and sports
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Meeta Mehrotra
Associate Professor, mehrotra@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Gender, Family, Stratification
Research interests:
• gender
• ethnic identity
• Asian Indian immigrants
Works with students on research:

Dr. Chad T. Morris
Assistant Professor, cmorris@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Anthropology
Research interests:
• Public health promotion
• Food and culture
• Global health
Works with students on research: yes

 
Sociology Professor Researches Euthanasia

Sociology Professor Researches Euthanasia

The research measures the attitudes of college students regarding euthanasia and physician-assisted suicide.

See all related stories

Choose core courses that interest you

Say goodbye to ordinary introductory courses in the core curriculum.

Learn More

Facilities Showcase

Get a closer look at the exceptional facilities available to students at Roanoke College.

Learn More