Faculty Research Interests in the Social Sciences

At Roanoke College, the Social Sciences include the following departments:

  • Business Administration & Economics
  • Education
  • Health & Human Performance: Athletic Training, Health and Exercise Science, Health and Physical Education, & Sport Management
  • Psychology
  • Public Affairs: Criminal Justice, International Relations, & Political Science
  • Sociology

Faculty research interests are listed by department, then alphabetical by faculty member.

Business Administration & Economics

Mrs. Michelle A. Crook
Lecturer, alexander@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Fed Challenge, Commercial Banking, Accounting
Research interests:
• Monetary Policy
• The Federal Reserve System
• Trends in Commercial Banking
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Garry A. Fleming
John S. Shannon Professor of Economics, fleming@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Economics
Research interests:
• Macroeconomic Analysis
• Monetary Economics
• International Trade
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Pamela S. Galluch
Assistant Professor, galluch@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Information Systems
Research interests:
• Technostress
• Multitasking with Information Technology
• Information Technology
Works with students on research: yes

Prof Michelle B. Hagadorn, CPA
Associate Professor, hagadorn@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Accounting
Research interests:
• Healthcare Finance and Accounting
• Financial literacy
• Corporate financial management
Works with students on research: Yes

Mr. Michael Hutkin
Teaching Associate, mhutkin@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Operations Management
Research interests:
• Global Management
• Operations Management
• Innovation
Works with students on research: Yes

Dr. Alice L. Kassens
Associate Professor, kassens@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Economics
Research interests:
• Effect of Clinical Depression on Labor Market Outcomes
• Health and the Business Cycle
• Obesity Economics
Works with students on research: Yes

Ms. Gulfem "Ivy" Kutlu
Visiting Instructor, kutlu@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Marketing
Research interests:
• Brand Equity
• Cross-Cultural Marketing
• Effect of Marketing on Firm Value
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Larry A. Lynch
Professor, llynch@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Finance
Research interests:
• Behavioral Finance
• Markets and Investing
• Forensic Economics
Works with students on research: yes
Publications with students:
An Accurate Prediction Model for Financial Distress, Larry A. Lynch and Lynn Schwehr, Virginia Social Science Journal, Winter 1996 

Mr. Bruce Manthe
Lecturer, manthe@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Marketing
Research interests:
• Advertising
• Marketing
• Sales
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Ali Nazemi
Professor, nazemi@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Information Systems
Research interests:
• Using Web 2.0 Technology in Classroom
• Impact of Technology on Teaching
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Edward Nik-Khah
Associate Professor, nik@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Economics
Research interests:
• Political economy of market design
• economics of scientific knowledge
• post- World War II history of economic thought
Works with students on research: yesc

Dr. Elisabeth Gilster Velazquez
Associate Professor, gilster@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Marketing
Research interests:
• Sustainable Business
• International Marketing
• Consumer Behavior
Works with students on research: yes

Education

Dr. Nancy A. Bradley
Lecturer, bradley@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Literacy and Special Education
Research interests:
• Differentiated Instructional Strategies
• Professional Development
• Vocabulary Development
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Lisa Earp
Associate Professor, earp@roanoke.edu
Research interests:
• Reading/Literacy
• PreService Teacher Training
• Professional Development
Works with students on research: yes

Ms. Kathryn "Katie" S. Elmore
Teaching Associate, elmore@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Foundations of Public Education/Teacher Pedagogy
Research interests:
• Service Learning
• Social Justice in Education
• Classroom Management
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Leslie Murrill
Associate Professor, murrill@roanoke.edu
Research interests:
• Examining the role of professional development as a source of growth and renewal for K-12 teachers across the continuum of their professional careers
• Using the arts to support K-12 student development in literacy and 21st century learning skills
• Strengthening reading and language arts instruction in elementary schools
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Timothy Reynolds
Associate Professor, treynold@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Specialty International Education and Elementary Education
Research interests:
• International education
• Teacher Professional Development
• Differentiated instruction
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Maria Stallions
Associate Professor, stallions@roanoke.edu
Research interests:
• Special Education, Cross-cultural Education, Teaching English Language Larners, Foundation and Philosophy of Education
• Service Learning Pedagogy, Literacy and Arts Integration
• Early Career Teacher Mentoring and Educational Leadership
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Lisa G. Stoneman
Teaching Associate, stoneman@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Curriculum and Instruction: English Education
Research interests:
• Democratic Education
• Secondary Educational Methods
• Curriculum Design & Implementation
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Gary L. Whitt
Associate Professor (Chair), whitt@roanoke.edu
Research interests:
• Assessment Modality and Long-Term Memory
• Technology in Learning and Teaching
• Teaching Methodologies
Works with students on research: Yes

Health & Human Performance

Dr. John W. Creasy
Associate Professor (Chair), creasy@roanoke.edu
Research interests:
• Sport Psychology - Mental Skill Development
• Mental Toughness
• Motor Learning
Works with students on research: yes
Creasy, J, Rearick, M., Buriak, J. & Reincke, K. (2011). Demographic Indicators of Rehabilitation Compliance/Noncompliance within College Athletics. (Accepted -In Press). Athletic Training and Sports Health Care. 
Rearick, M., Creasy, J, Johnson, J. & Mumaw, E. (2010). After - and In-School-Wide Nutrition and Fitness Programs for Elementary Students. The Virginia Journal: Virginia Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance. Spring 2010, Vol. 31, No. 2 pp. 28-30. 
Creasy, J., Rearick, M., Buriak, J. & Wright, L. (2009). Are You Coaching Mental Skills? Why Not? The Virginia Journal: Virginia Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance. Fall 2009, Vol. 30, No. 2 pp. 13-17. 
Creasy, J., Stratton, R., Maina, M., Rearick, M. & Reincke, K. (2008). Mental Toughness in Sports. Scholastic Coach & Athletic Director April 2008, Volume 77, No. 9 pp. 30-35.

Dr. Elizabeth A. Holbrook
Assistant Professor, holbrook@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Exercise Science
Research interests:
• Exercise as medicine
• Physical activity across the lifespan
• Special populations (particular interest in visual impairment)
Works with students on research: Yes

Dr. Michael P. Maina
Associate Professor, maina@roanoke.edu
Specialty:
Research interests:
• Physical Education Teacher Education (PETE), Pedagogy, Critical Thinking
• Fitness and Exercise Prescription, Health and Wellness
• Leadership
Works with students on research: yes
Creasy, J., Reincke, K., & Maina, M. (2008). Mental toughness: Why you need it. Scholastic Coach and Athletic Director, April, 30-34.

Dr. Julie Schlegel Maina
Assistant Professor, jmaina@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Health and Physical Education Pedagogy
Research interests:
• Health psychology
• Childhood obesity
• Health education and eating disorders
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Matthew P. Rearick
Associate Professor, rearick@roanoke.edu
Research interests:
• Movement Neuroscience
• Exercise Science
Works with students on research: yes
Publications with students:
Creasy, J., Rearick, M., Buriak, J., & Reincke*, K. (In Press). Indicators of rehabilitation noncompliance in college athletics. Athletic Training and Sports Health Care.
Rearick, M.P, Creasy, J., Mumaw*, E. & Johnson, J. (2010) After- and school-wide nutrition and fitness programs for elementary students. The Virginia Journal. 31(2). 28 - 30.

Ms. Deborah "Debbie" Stevens
Part-time Lecturer, stevens@roanoke.edu
Research interests:
• Yin Yoga
• 8 Limbs of Yoga
• Buddhism
Works with students on research: yes

Psychology

Dr. Christopher Buchholz
Associate Professor, buchholz@roanoke.edu
Research interests:
• Social Psychology
• Music and Emotions
• Complex Systems
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Chuck Early
Professor, early@roanoke.edu
Research interests:
• Origins of Modern Psychology in the Late 19th Century--particularly the work of Fechner, Wundt, and James

Dr. Denise Friedman
Associate Professor and Chair, friedman@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Cognitive Developmental Neuroscience
Research interests: 
• child development
• impact of technology
• working memory and inhibitory control
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. David F. Nichols
Assistant Professor, dnichols@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Neuroscience
Research interests:
• Human Visual Perception
• Cognitive Neuroscience
• Computational Modeling of Cortical Brain Dynamics
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Galdino F. Pranzarone
Professor, pranzaro@roanoke.edu
Research interests:
• Development of Paraphilias in Childhood and Adolescence
• Development of Lovemaps & Lovemap Theory
• Sexuoerotic Management of Childbirth
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Ed Whitson
Associate Professor, whitson@roanoke.edu
Research interests:
• Personality Research - Obsessive and Hysterical Personality
• Personality Research - Self-Actualization
• Pedagogy of Creative Thinking
Works with students on research: yes

Public Affairs

Dr. C. William Hill, Jr.
Senior Lecturer, hill@roanoke.edu
Research interests:
• The Jeffersonian tradition in American politics
• Conservative political thought, especially its origins in the 1950s

Mr. Roy "Chuck" H. Kirby, III
Visiting Instructor, rhkirby@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Normative Ethics in Administration
Research interests:
• Constitutionalism
• Ethics in Politics & Administration
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Andreea Mihalache-O'Keef
Assistant Professor, mihalache@roanoke.edu
Research interests:
• Multinational Corporations as Political Actors in Developing Countries
• The Politics of Human Security and Development
• Globalization and Environmental Stability
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Todd C. Peppers
Associate Professor, peppers@roanoke.edu
Research interests:
• Judicial Institutions
• Supreme Court Law Clerks
• Death Penalty
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Joshua B. Rubongoya
Professor (Chair), rubongoy@roanoke.edu
Research interests:
• Democratization in Africa
• Political Economy of Developing Countries
• Human Rights of Developing States
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Harry Wilson
Professor, wilson@roanoke.edu
Research interests:
• Public Opinion Polling
• Gun Control
• Virginia Politics

Sociology

Dr. Shannon L. Anderson
Assistant Professor, slanderson@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Historical Sociology and Medical Sociology
Research interests:
• Autism
• AIDS
• American identity over the 20th century
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Marit A. Berntson
Associate Professor (Chair), berntson@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Political Sociology
Research interests:
• Political extremism
• Anti-immigration and anti-racism movements in France
• College student relationships and intimacy
Works with students on research: yes

Ms. Margaret E. Gaines
Lecturer, mgaines@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Demography, Social Injustice, Third Sector Research
Research interests:
• Population Processes
• Third Sector Research and Theory on China
• Social Injustice in Relation to Natural Resources

Dr. Kristi L. Hoffman
Associate Professor, khoffman@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Marriage and Family in the 21st Century, Educational Reform, Effects of Incarceration, and Drug Treatment
Research interests:
• service learning
• dating patterns
Works with students on research: yes

Mr. Steven M. McGlamery
Lecturer, mcglamery@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Race and Inequality
Research interests:
• Race/class/gender inequality
• Race and education
• Race and sports
Works with students on research: yes

Dr. Meeta Mehrotra
Associate Professor, mehrotra@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Gender, Family, Stratification
Research interests:
• gender
• ethnic identity
• Asian Indian immigrants
Works with students on research:

Dr. Chad T. Morris
Assistant Professor, cmorris@roanoke.edu
Specialty: Anthropology
Research interests:
• Public health promotion
• Food and culture
• Global health
Works with students on research: yes

 
Morris selected for Harris Rising Star award from VFIC

Morris selected for Harris Rising Star award from VFIC

Dr. Chad Morris, assistant professor of anthropology, receives the inaugural Harris Rising Star Award from the Virginia Foundation for Independent Colleges.

See all related stories

Choose core courses that interest you

Say goodbye to ordinary introductory courses in the core curriculum.

Learn More

Facilities Showcase

Get a closer look at the exceptional facilities available to students at Roanoke College.

Learn More