Roanoke College

Roanoke Honors Outstanding Students, Faculty, Staff


Roanoke College honored its best and brightest in an all-campus celebration of Achievement, Service and Innovation on April 20, 2006.

Student Awards:

Aaron D. Gluth, a senior from Daleville, received the Alpha Lambda Delta Award, presented to the Alpha Lambda Delta member who graduates with the highest scholastic achievement.

Erin K. Brady, a senior from Chesapeake, received the Annie Terrill Bushnell Prize, which is awarded by the estate of Mrs. William A. Anderson, Jr., in memory of her mother, Annie Terrill Bushnell, this award recognizes the female student who has shown the highest qualities of leadership and loyalty to the College and to her fellow students.

Noah Z. Spring, a senior from Roanoke, received the Rev. Dr. John E. Bushnell Prize, also awarded by by the estate of Mrs. William A. Anderson, Jr., in memory of her father, the Reverend Doctor John E. Bushnell, this award recognizes the male student who has shown the highest qualities of leadership and loyalty to the College and to his fellow students.

Two students were recognized with the John Todd Faw Memorial Award: Senior Richard J. Goeres of Strasburg and Jessica L. Swanson, a senior from Roanoke. This award is given to that Roanoke College student who best exemplifies the spirit of J. Todd Faw, a sophomore at the time of his death in 1982: active concern for the Roanoke College community, concern for others, intellectual curiosity, initiative, and the commitment and potential to improve society.

Sarah M. McDonald, a junior from Harrisonburg, received the Fortnightly Club Award, presented by the Fortnightly Club of Roanoke College to a student who has achieved excellence in academics, and who is active in community service and college-related activities.

Junior Gregory W. Hess from Boiling Springs, PA was presented the Daniel Poe Klein scholarship, which was established by Daniel Poe Klein’s parents, brothers David and Thomas, and friends in memory of Daniel, a member of Pi Kappa Phi. It is presented annually to the male rising senior who has demonstrated outstanding talent in the field of physical education and has shown exemplary moral leadership in the college community.

Lauren M. Thomas, a junior English major from Winchester, was presented the Outstanding Student Leader award, which recognizes a student who has contributed maximum efforts in leadership to their organization and to the college. 

Two organizations were honored as Outstanding Organization. The Resident Advisors and Greek Resident Manager staffs were honored, along with Intervarsity Christian Fellowship. This recognition goes to the organization that demonstrates the highest level of effectiveness. Student leaders and members of the organization must have shown outstanding qualities in the day-to-day operation of their organization.

Two student programs were recognized as having presented outstanding programs: the Super Bowl party, sponsored by MPower, Intervaristy Christian Fellowship and Campus Activities Board. This recognition is given for a program that has made a significant impact on the campus in terms of attendance, creativity, uniqueness, promotion, special production requirements, and student involvement.

The 2005 Relay for Life fundraiser was recognized as the outstanding service program. Erin K. Brady and senior Abbey Rowe of Salem chaired the event. This award is given to honor a service program that has demonstrated a significant impact on the campus or the community in terms of attendance, fundraising, creativity, uniqueness, promotion, and student involvement.

The residents of Marion Hall were recognized with the Discourse Award. This award recognizes activities and projects that advance values of openness, respect, civil discourse, collaboration, justice and integrity. Particular importance is placed on activities that advance these values in interactions with and among students.

Faculty Awards:

Dr. Florinda Ruiz, associate professor of foreign languages, was honored with the Exemplary Teaching Award, recognizing outstanding teaching, innovative pedagogy and a commitment to student mentoring and advising.

Dr. Charlene Kalinoski, professor of Spanish, was presented with the Exemplary Service Award, which recognizes outstanding service to the College or the larger community.

Dr. Paul Hanstedt, associate professor of English, was honored with the Innovation Award. The Innovation Award recognizes activities, programs, practices, and events that lead to new thinking and behavior for the betterment of Roanoke College and its students.

Staff Awards:

Two staff members were honored with the STAR Award (Service to All Roanoke): Maintenance staff member Jerry Dickerson and James Pennix, associate director of admissions.  The STAR award recognizes individuals for their outstanding accomplishments and distinguished service above and beyond the call of the duties of their position at Roanoke College.

Three staff members were recognized with the Innovation Award: Sarah Land, web developer and database analyst of Roanoke, Mark Petersen, dean of student activities, of Salem, and David Mulford, director of media services, of Roanoke. The Innovation Award recognizes activities, programs, practices, and events that lead to new thinking and behavior for the betterment of Roanoke College and its students.

At an earlier April event, Roanoke College community members were recognized with Ken Garren Awards  honoring the dedication and hard work of the promotion of diversity and multiculturalism on the Roanoke College campus.

The Deneen Evans Lifetime Achievement Award was established to honor Ms. Evans' years of service to Roanoke as the first director of multicultural affairs.  

Honored as outstanding staff members were Michael Steele, Area Coordinator; Stephanie Garst, Director of Community Programs; and James Pennix, Associate Director of Admissions. All are of Salem.

Outstanding faculty members named at this event included Dr. Dolores Flores-Silva, assistant professor of foreign languages and Dr. Darwin Jorgensen, Thornhill Professor of Biology, both of Salem.

Named outstanding college department was Student Activities, led by Mark Petersen, assistant dean of students and director of the Colket Center. The outstanding student organization was Lambda Alliance.

Several students were also honored. Chosen as outstanding upperclassmen were Michelle Bates, a senior from Virginia Beach; Elliot Cooke, a senior from Manakin-Sabot, Va.; sophomore Sarah Donahue, of Roanoke; sophomore Heather Brown, of Baltimore; and sophomore Anh Vu, of Ventnor, N.J. Sophomore Wyll Gates (Columbia, S.C.) and junior AJ Stewart (Dumont, N.J.) each received special recognition from Deneen Evans.

Recognized as outstanding freshmen were Erica Daniel, of Courtland, Ohio; Sarah Storck, of New Milford, Conn.; and Christina Perry, of Bent Mountain.

These annual awards are named for former dean of the College, Dr. Kenneth Garren.