Roanoke College

Roanoke College announces new endowed professorships

  • Roanoke College announces new endowed professorships

  • 12/11/08
  • SALEM, Va. - Two new endowed professorships have been established and filled at Roanoke College, bringing the total of endowed professorships to eight. Several other appointments to endowed professorships have been finalized.

    "We are excited about and grateful for these new endowed professorships," Dr. Michael Hakkenberg, interim dean, said. "They will enrich the educational opportunities of our students and enhance the intellectual and academic life of our campus."

    Dr. Garry Fleming holds the new Jack Shannon Professorship in Economics. Fleming has taught at Roanoke since 1987 in the college's Business Administration and Economics department. He holds a Ph.D. from the University of Kentucky. This professorship was established by Mr. and Mrs. John S. Shannon '52.

    Dr. Ned Wisnefske is the new Schumann Professor of Lutheran Theology. Wisnefske has taught at Roanoke since 1985 and holds a Ph.D. from the University of Chicago. The Schumann Professorship was established by Charlie and Helen Schumann of Richmond, Virginia.

    Dr. Jack Steehler has been named the Brian H. Thornhill professor. The Thornhill professorship is a five-year endowed appointment established by Mr. and Mrs. Glenn O. Thornhill. It is awarded to a faculty member who is an outstanding teacher/mentor and has a record of involving students in independent study and research.

    Dr. Gerald McDermott has been named as the Jordan-Trexler Professor of Religion. McDermott has taught at Roanoke since 1989 and holds a Ph.D. from the University of Iowa. The Jordan-Trexler Professorship was established in cooperation with the ELCA Trexler Trust and the Dennis Fentley Jordan endowment from Lillian Jordan Muse.

    Dr. Paul Hinlicky holds the Rev. J. Marshall Tice Professorship in Lutheran Studies. This professorship was established in memory of the Rev. Jacob Marshall Tice and Alice Peterman Tice. Hinlicky has been at Roanoke since 2000 and holds a Ph.D. from Union Theological Seminary.

    In addition, the College is finalizing the appointment of the Joanne Leonhardt Cassullo Professorship in Art History. The Cassullo Professorship was established in 2004 and funded by the Dorothea L. Leonhardt Foundation and the Dorothea Leonhardt Fund at the Communities Foundation of Texas, Inc. Cassullo is a 1978 graduate of Roanoke College and a member of the College's Board of Trustees.

    Other endowed professorships at Roanoke include the Henry H. and Trudye Fowler Professor of Public Affairs, which is held by Dr. C. William Hill and the John P. Fishwick Professor of English, held by Dr. Robert Schultz. Hill holds a Ph.D. from American University and has been with Roanoke College since 1969. Schultz has been with Roanoke since 2004 and has a Ph.D. from Cornell University.

    In the fall, the College will do a national search for another new professorship - the new Schumann Professor of Christian Ethics.

    Roanoke College, an independent, co-educational, four-year liberal arts college in Salem, Virginia, combines firsthand learning with valuable personal connections in a classic, undergraduate setting. Roanoke prepares students for their futures through its commitment to providing a true classic college experience. Roanoke is one of just 276 colleges nationwide with a chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation's oldest and most prestigious honor society. The Princeton Review names Roanoke as one of the "best in the Southeast."

    For additional information, call the Roanoke College Public Relations Office at (540) 375-2282.

  • Public Relations
  • (540) 375-2282