Roanoke College & Hollins Team Up to Present Perry F. Kendig Awards

Hollins University and Roanoke College are joining together to champion a program that has recognized distinction in arts and culture in the Roanoke Valley for more than 25 years.

The two liberal arts institutions are now the co-sponsors of The Perry F. Kendig Arts and Culture Awards, which honor exemplary individuals, businesses, and organizations that support excellence in the arts. This year's awards presentation will be held on Sunday, November 3, from 4 - 5:30 p.m. in Roanoke College's Wortmann Ballroom, and nominations will be accepted through Monday, September 16.

"These awards have served as an important advocacy program for the community to realize and appreciate the vital and important role arts and culture play in economic development as well as education in our schools," said Hollins University President Nancy Gray. "They also provide a focal point for celebrating and strengthening the Roanoke Valley's cultural identity."

Perry KendigNamed for the late Perry F. Kendig, who served as president of Roanoke College and was an avid supporter and patron of the arts, the awards were established in 1985 and presented annually by the Arts Council of the Blue Ridge until last year.

"When the Kendig Awards program found itself without a home, Hollins and Roanoke came together to keep the tradition alive in appreciation to the Roanoke Valley's cultural community," explained Roanoke College President Mike Maxey. "In addition, Hollins and Roanoke are confident that presenting this annual program will build an even stronger arts and culture bridge between our respective campus environments and the community at large."

Hollins and Roanoke will present three Kendig Awards this year, one in each of the following categories:

  • Individual Artist (in any discipline - dance, literature, music, media arts, visual arts, and theatre)
  • Arts and Culture Organization
  • Individual or Business Supporter

Individuals, businesses, and organizations from the Roanoke Valley region (which includes the counties of Botetourt, Franklin, and Roanoke, the cities of Roanoke and Salem, and the town of Vinton) are eligible, as are any past Kendig Award recipients. Hollins University and Roanoke College employees and programs are not eligible.

For more information about The Perry F. Kendig Arts and Culture Awards, including nomination forms, visit the Kendig Awards web site. 

Released: August 13, 2013
Contact Name: Public Relations
Contact Phone: (540) 375-2282
Contact Email: