Senior Wins Men's Cross Country Championship

HARRISONBURG, Va.--Roanoke College senior Eric Johnson won the championship at the 2006 Old Dominion Athletic Conference men's cross country meet, becoming the first Roanoke men's runner to win the title since the 1998 season. Johnson earned a top-10 finish and First Team All-ODAC honors for the fourth consecutive season and was named the 2006 ODAC Runner of the Year. The Roanoke men placed fifth overall at the event, while the Maroon women placed second, behind only winner Washington & Lee.

Johnson's race was his second fastest of the 2006 season. He ran the 8k course in 28:08. Johnson, who has led the Maroons in every race this season and wins a race for the third time this year, is the first Roanoke runner to win the ODAC men's race since David Angell in 1998. Overall, the Roanoke men were fifth in the race. Andrew Buckland earned Second Team All-ODAC honors by placing 14th overall, crossing the line in 30:00.

The Roanoke women had three runners earn First Team All-ODAC honors on Saturday. Freshman Mallory McClaine was third overall in 25:39. Two spots and 11 seconds behind was junior Meg Harnett, who earned First Team All-ODAC honors for the second consecutive season. Roanoke's third All-ODAC performer was freshman Liz Mumaw who was sixth overall in 25:52. The Maroons beat out third place Eastern Mennonite by two points to place second for the fourth consecutive season.

Both the Roanoke men and women are back in action on November 11 at the NCAA South/Southeast Regional race in Atlanta, Ga.