Roanoke College

Update on carbon monoxide incident, July 18, 4:30 p.m.


SALEM, VA-- Today, Dr. Sabine O'Hara, president of Roanoke College, appointed a five-member task force to study the accident involving the release of carbon monoxide in Sections residence hall and to help develop the college's long-term response to these issues.

In appointing the task force, O'Hara has charged the group with addressing three areas: technical issues related to carbon monoxide detection and warning systems; best practices and procedures; and education on the symptoms of carbon monoxide poisoning.

The task force will be chaired by George "Skip" Zubrod, vice president of business affairs. Task force members include Thomas Turner, director of campus safety; Teresa Blethyn, assistant dean of students for residence life; Rick Myers, director of physical plant; and Dr. Benjamin Huddle, professor of chemistry.

"We take this issue very seriously and are determined to keep our campus safe," O'Hara said. "We are installing carbon monoxide monitors not only in all residence halls but in every building on campus. These monitors are not required by law, but we are committed to providing the safest possible environment for our students, faculty, staff and visitors."