NCAA DII and DIII Women's Lacrosse Championships

Salem, Va. -- Virginia's "Championship City" has awarded 54 NCAA Division II or Division III championships throughout its storied history, but this weekend welcomes a new event to Salem. In conjunction with the Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC), the City of Salem welcomes NCAA Division II and Division III Women's Lacrosse for the 2009 National Championships in one weekend! Donald J. Kerr Stadium at Roanoke College provides the perfect venue as it opens its gates for its second and third national championships, offering the eight teams making the trip to Salem a first-class facility as part of their memorable championship experience.

The first of four semifinal games begins at 11 a.m. on Saturday, May 16, with games following at 2, 5 and 8 p.m. The national championship games are set for Sunday, May 17, at noon and 3 p.m., and will be televised live by CBS College Sports. Please visit the online home of the tournament at for more information.

Play begins in four semifinal contests on Saturday, May 16, with a star-studded field of powerful women's lacrosse programs. For Division II semifinals, Lock Haven University (Pa.) and Limestone College (S.C.) look to break through in 2009, as both go in search of their program's first national championship. The Saints and Lady Eagles take the field at 11 a.m. Saturday. A pair of two-time champions dot the field with C.W. Post and Adelphi University looking for a third crown. This semifinal game begins at 2 p.m. on Saturday.

For Division III, three of the four teams in the field were visitors to the Roanoke Valley in 2008, including reigning national champion, Hamilton College. Franklin & Marshall College makes its second trip to Salem just this season, with these Diplomats hoping to leave the area with the big prize. Salisbury University has been the national runner-up twice, but the Seagulls hope their second trip to Salem in as many years provides that first women's lacrosse crown. The newcomer of the group is Gettysburg College with the Bullets also hungry for an inaugural championship.

Saturday, May 16

Division II Semifinal

11 a.m.

Lock Haven University v. Limestone College

Division II Semifinal

2 p.m.

C.W. Post v. Adelphia

Division III Semifinal

5 p.m.

Gettysburg v. Salsbury

Division III Semifinal

8 p.m.

Hamilton College v. Franklin &Marshall College

Sunday, May 17

Division II Championship

12 Noon

Winner of D-II semifinal 1

Winner of D-II semifinal 2

Division III Championship

Winner of D-III semifinal 1

Winner of D-III semifinal 2

Released: May 15, 2009
Contact Name: Public Relations
Contact Phone: (540) 375-2282
Contact Email: